Folow us on social media

Sign up to our mailing list

In Pictures: Click here to see pictures from this year’s Aisling Awards

Aisling Awards Receipients.

Para-Olympic double gold medal winner Michael McKillop received the Belfast Person of the Year Award at the 16th annual Aisling Awards gala in the Europa Hotel tonight (Thursday). The 22-year-old, born with cerebral palsy, was honoured for overcoming disability to become a world champion. The Award was presented by Alliance leader and Minister for Justice David Ford MLA who is also Guest Speaker at the banquet.

The Roll of Honour Award, which has previously gone to peacemaker Alan McBride went to community campaigner and people’s priest, Fr Des Wilson. The award was presented by former High Sheriff of Belfast Ian Adamson, himself a former recipient of the accolade.

Other winners were:

Community: Upper Andersonstown Community Forum

Belfast Brand: The Mac (for best new Belfast Building)

Sport: Irish Olympic Boxing Team represented by Paddy Barnes and Michael Conlan

Culture and Arts: Culture Night

Gaeilge/Irish Language: Cumann Cultúrtha Mhic Reachtain/McCracken Cultural Society

Education: Methody College for outreach programme to Sandy Row primary schools.

Business: Wastebeater

Lead business partner in the Aisling Awards is LBM with support coming also from TG4, Cable&Wireless, Tennents NI, Moviehouse, Ulster Bank, Kennedy Centre, Park Centre, Sean Graham and Mercury Security Management.